Katie Sample Earns Prestigious CPFO Designation

Published Apr 18, 2024

We are proud to announce that Katie Sample, Finance Director for the City of Wayne, has successfully completed the Certified Public Finance Officer (CPFO) Program. Ms. Sample is only the 12th individual in the state to achieve and maintain this distinguished designation and the first since 2019.

The CPFO Program is a rigorous, nationally recognized program designed to develop the highest standards of competency in government finance. Participants must complete a comprehensive curriculum covering governmental accounting, auditing, budgeting, financial reporting, and other critical areas. Earning the CPFO credential demonstrates a commitment to excellence in public service financial management.

“MGFOA congratulates Katie Sample on this significant accomplishment,” said Jody Weissler DeFoe, President of the Michigan Government Finance Officers Association. “The CPFO designation signifies Ms. Sample’s expertise and dedication to ethical and efficient financial management for the City of Wayne. Her leadership will be instrumental in ensuring the city’s long-term fiscal health.”

Katie Sample expressed her gratitude for the opportunity to participate in the CPFO Program. “I am honored to receive this certification and grateful for the support of the MGFOA and the City of Wayne,” Ms. Sample said. “The CPFO program has provided me with invaluable knowledge and skills that will enable me to better serve the community.”

Current Michigan CPFOs as of April 18, 2024:

Name Title Employer
Cynthia Catanach Arbanas Deputy Co. Administrator/Financial Officer County of Livingston
Kristin Collins Finance Director City of Sault Ste. Marie
Elizabeth Gaines Finance Director City of Brighton
Karl Kramer Division Finance Officer Genesee County Drain Commission
Karen Lancaster Project Manager The Woodhill Group
Catherine McClary Treasurer Washtenaw County
Lynn McCammon Finance Director City of Holland
Melanie Purcell    
Kathryn Sample Finance Director / Treasurer City of Wayne
Jason Theis Finance Director Charter Township of Bloomfield
Sandi Wiktorowski Finance Director City of Northville
Amanda Woodin Assistant Revenue Services Director City of Battle Creek